Jogging, the cold and odd facial hair

Socrates once said:

“It is a shame for a man to grow old without seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable.”

I doubt he ever had to contend with video games, takeaway pizza and easily accessible beer, though.

Unsurprisingly, my decision to re-take-up jogging isn’t one based off a resolution. I’m not one of those people you see in January and February in £60 worth of jogging gear – hat, skin-tight trousers, MP3 holder, snood etc. I’m a different class of jogger, the one who does it when they can be arsed.

I took a break in December due to the weather and a particularly nasty cough that I’m only just getting rid of and it’s noticeable how much your fitness can drop in a month and a bit. In late Spring last year I ran a 10km in under an hour. Last week I almost dropped dead running 3km.

I have a few scapegoats in the way of the cold and the massive hill I have to run up or down wherever I go, but that’s they’re still not much in the way of excuses. The recent spell of “being arsed” to run is brought about by the alarming rate at which fat is collecting in my neck – for some people its the stomach, chest or thighs, for me it’s my jowls. I know when I’m getting out of shape because suddenly I can check the state of the facial hair under my chin without having to look upwards in the mirror.

Which brings me nicely onto my experimentation with facial hair. Having watched the Musketeers on BBC One and drawing inspiration from their very silly facial hair and the fact that I work behind a computer in my own room I’ve decided to prototype a different style of facial hair that looks rugged and masculine on the men on TV but probably effeminate and stupid on me.

There’s only one way to find out though.

I’ll be posting weekly articles from TR this Friday, along with some from last week too.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

