Companies are singular

Companies are singular

Companies are singular

Companies are singular

Everyone has their bugbears in writing I guess. Mine is pluralism. Having been editor and writer for a music magazine for three years in university, I spent so much of my time drilling the fact that bands are plural into my head that I now find it hard to switch out of that mode of writing. Most of the time I’ll get it right, but at the end of the day I will usually catch myself slipping back into it with a quick Ctrl+F search.

I have a little sticker on my monitor to order me to search for “have, are, they, their” whenever I finish to stop myself, but some still slip through. I’m better than I was, when untold numbers would slide through to the annoyance of my editors. Who knows, if I end up at another music magazine I might get chewed out for always making bands singular when they should be plural!

Practice makes perfect, as they say.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

